Self striping and gradients!

As I’m wrapping up my testers, I’ve been able to experiment with some different, new to me techniques, which has been really really fun. In the latest, I rocked self striping yarn. We will definitely be doing more of this. It was so fun and I can’t wait to see how it knits up. This is on a twist sock base that I hadn’t tried before, but really like the look of. Inspiration photo

IMG_0035 (2)

 

Another view. You can see the barberpole effect especially well on the darker blue in this pic.

IMG_0040

 

And that yarn wound

IMG_0078

 

Can you tell I love this yarn?

 

Here is one of the gradients

IMG_0079

 

And the other

IMG_0074

 

that same yarn wound from the opposite direction

IMG_0065

 

On the knitting side, I’ve been working on a lot of projects for the family. I have 2 adorable new pairs of longies finished, just need to lanolize and take pics. I’m working on a blanket so awesome that it will need its own post and on a pair of socks for me with yarn from an indie dyer swap I was in. This was super fun to do! I got

IMG_0514

from my swap partner TwoToast. I’m working on Leyburn Socks, a lattice pattern type job. They are very pretty so far, but this is definitely a after kid bedtime project. I’ve made a number of socks before, but none with this type of patterning. It’s definitely a more interesting knit than plain. We’ll see how I like them when they are done.

In other exciting Nachomama news, I have a new logo in the works and some yummy yummy yarn headed my way. There is a giant blob of worsted squishiness headed my way from Uraguay and a bit of superwash merino DK from South America coming as well. I’m enjoying experimenting with different yarns and figuring out what’s going to be part of our regular stock.

Leave a Reply

